Mosimane and Mamelodi Sundowns playmaker Zwane dominate PSL awards

The Masandawana attacking midfielder was the biggest winner on the night as he won three accolades

Mamelodi Sundowns dominated the Premier Soccer League (PSL) Awards on Thursday evening.

The Tshwane giants were the big winners during the star-studded virtual ceremony having enjoyed a successful 2019/20 season. 

Sundowns won clinched a domestic treble having clinched PSL title, Telkom Knockout Cup and Nedbank Cup.

The club’s key player Themba Zwane was the biggest winner on the night as he won three accolades.

The Bafana Bafana international was named PSL Footballer of the Season, Players’ Player of the Season and Midfielder of the Season awards. 

His former coach, Pitso Mosimane scooped the PSL Coach of the Season after guiding Sundowns to their maiden domestic treble in the PSL era. 

Mosimane, who is now in charge of Egyptian giants Al Ahly, also won the PSL Chairman’s Award.

Sundowns captain Hlompho Kekana won the PSL Goal of the Season for his strike against Cape Town City in the first round of the 2019/20 season.

Kekana’s new teammate Peter Shaulile received the PSL Golden Award which he shared with Orlando Pirates striker Frank Mhango with both players having netted 16 goals in the recent campaign.

SuperSport United duo of Ronwen Williams and Bradley Grobler walked away with the PSL Goalkeeper of the Season and MTN8 Last Man-Standing accolades respectively. 


PSL Players’ Player of the Season

Themba Zwane – Mamelodi Sundowns 

PSL Coach of the Season

Pitso Mosimane – ex-Mamelodi Sundowns coach 

PSL Goalkeeper of the Season

Ronwen Williams – SuperSport United 

PSL Defender of the Season

Rushine De Reuck – Maritzburg United 

PSL Midfielder of the Season

Themba Zwane – Mamelodi Sundowns 

PSL Young Player of the Season

Goodman Mosele – Baroka FC 

PSL Goal of the Season

Hlompho Kekana – Mamelodi Sundowns

PSL Golden Boot Winners

Peter Shalulile – Highlands Park (now with Mamelodi Sundowns)

Frank Mhango – Orlando Pirates 

PSL Chairman’s Award

Pitso Mosimane – ex-Mamelodi Sundowns coach 

MTN8 Last Man Standing 

Bradley Grobler – SuperSport United

Telkom Knockout Cup Player of the Tournament

Gaston Sirino – Bloemfontein Celtic 

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament 

Victor Letsoalo – Bloemfontein Celtic 

National First Division (NFD) Golden Boot winner

Abednigo Mosiatlhaga – Ajax Cape Town (Cape Town Spurs)

PSL Assistant Referee of the Season

Shaun Olive

PSL Referee of the Season

Jelly Chavani 

Source link

As an Editor and an Sports Geek, it's my pleasure to share my knowledge about Sports and their various aspects that can impact our lives.

Latest Posts

Facing Canelo – Callum Smith wanted the ultimate test. He got it

Now he must rebuild. Callum Smith speaks to...

Joseph Parker comes through heavyweight brawl with New Zealand rival Junior Fa

Joseph Parker gets the decision over old amateur...

Miami Vice: Canelo vs Yildirim

In his quest to become undisputed champion, boxing...

F1 revenues fell by $877 million in Covid-struck 2020 season · RaceFans

Formula 1 has reported revenues of $1.1 billion...

Canelo Alvarez: ‘I’m trying to make history’

At the final press conference Canelo Alvarez confirms...